World War Z by Max Brooks

86666

World War Z by Max Brooks
Publisher/Year: Broadway Paperbacks, 2007
Format: Paperback
Pages: 342
Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟
Goodreads

 

Synopsis

We survived the zombie apocalypse, but how many of us are still haunted by that terrible time? We have (temporarily?) defeated the living dead, but at what cost? Told in the haunting and riveting voices of the men and women who witnessed the horror firsthand, World War Z is the only record of the plague years.

What I thought

Let me begin by saying that, as I read, I had to keep reminding myself that this was a work of fiction. And if that isn’t enough to make you want to read this, then I think you & I are done here.

I do need to back up a few steps here & go over a few of the things I wasn’t crazy about. First of all, this is absolutely not a book with any form of character development. When the subtitle says “an oral history,” that’s what it literally means. This interview format is not one I’m used to, but it did lend itself to making this read like non-fiction–really engaging non-fiction. There were some interviews I really enjoyed & others not so much, but I feel like that goes without saying. The only other thing that I didn’t really care for with the interview format was that, depending on who he was talking to, some of the interviews went into WAY too much detail about politics or weaponry, but that’s just me.

Another thing that’s worth noting before starting this is that this book is literally NOTHING like the movie, which is good because the movie was awful. FAST zombies? No, thanks.

Where this book shines is that it is a highly intelligent, highly plausible take on what would probably happen in the event of a zombie outbreak. It’s very evident that Max Brooks did his research, particularly in regards to global politics & human nature. I also want to note, there were some pretty gruesome scenes (which I was all about), but this wasn’t scary, at least to me. Unnerving maybe, but not scary.

Overall, if you’re into this sort of thing, the believability alone is worth checking out, but to the casual zombie/horror fan, be aware of the non-traditional (and at times, detail heavy) format. Definitely recommend!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

