Brave New World by Aldous Huxley

6578217

 

BRAVE NEW WORLD by Aldous Huxley
Publisher/Year: The Modern Library, 1932
Source: Library
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 311
Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟
Goodreads

 

 

Synopsis

Brave New World is a brilliantly satiric novel about life six centuries from now (in “632 After Ford”), the Utopian era in which science has, with juggernaut indifference, triumphed. It is an era of perfect stability, control, conformity. There are, for example, no mothers or fathers because babies are mass-produced from chemical solutions in laboratory bottles; children are completely conditioned for their designated roles as adults in a precisely ordered society. Into this incredible world comes Bernard Marx, hatched in an excessively alcoholic prenatal solution, with ideas worthy of the primitive twentieth century.

This is a shocking, fantastic novel, rich in witty entertainment and biting comment. Its status as a classic increases steadily as what seemed imaginary fiction becomes each day more of a reality.

What I thought

I have no idea where to start with my thoughts on this one.

I stand by what I said early on in my reading: “sometimes unsettling, sometimes utterly captivating, sometimes really odd, and sometimes downright creepy.”

I can absolutely see what makes this a classic. There was just so much to contemplate, and I know that this book will stand up to multiple readings. I would like to own a copy just so I can go back & see what else I can get out of this read.

Between the ideas of eugenics, clones, social conditioning from conception, and that creepy hypnopedia, this book from the outset really disturbed me. Add to that the artificial “happiness” created by recreational drugs, recreational sex, and recreational sports, and you have a “brave new world” that I truly hope never becomes reality. It was rather interesting & thought provoking, but I definitely echo the sentiments of John when he says, “I’m claiming the right to be unhappy.”

Again, I feel like I’m having a hard time articulating my thoughts on this book. It was so fascinating, and so different from books that I normally read & enjoy. Even though I just finished it, I definitely plan to re-read it at some point because I know I’ll get more out of it each time.

A modern classic, dystopian/science fiction, utopian satire…this is a must read for fans of those genres.

2 thoughts on “Brave New World by Aldous Huxley

Add yours

  1. I had to read this book my senior year of high school, and I read the entire thing in one night so I’d be prepared for the test the next morning. I did not sleep. I don’t remember much of it now, and am planning a re-read soon. It must have been engaging if I was able to persevere through those difficult a.m. hours.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

