The Almost Wives Club by Nancy Warren

THE ALM33545770OST WIVES CLUB by Nancy Warren
Publisher/Year: Nancy Weatherley Warren, 2015
Source: Nook
Format: E-book
Pages: 141 pages
Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟
Goodreads

 

Synopsis

Kate Winton-Jones is marrying one of America’s most eligible bachelors. Edward Carnarvon III is rich, handsome and hers. But at the final fitting of her wedding gown, one of the seamstresses pricks her and a tiny blood spot appears on the outrageously expensive gown. Its famous designer fires the clumsy seamstress on the spot, whereupon the girl puts a curse on the dress and storms out. Kate doesn’t believe in curses. She’s modern, American and in love with the perfect guy. What could go wrong?

But that very evening she meets a man who makes her question her future. And then she discovers that Edward has been hiding a secret or two…and before you can say, “This dress is so cursed,” she’s on the run from Edward, his family, her mother, the paparazzi and the person she thought she was.

When the man who discovers her hiding place turns out to be the last man she should trust, it’s time to throw her cautious good sense out with the satin shoes she won’t be wearing. Playing it safe hasn’t done her much good. Maybe it’s time to play by a new set of rules. Her rules.

Sometimes Prince Charming is the one who turns out to be the frog, and true love appears in the most unexpected places.

What I thought

Let me start off by saying that when I picked this up, I was pretty wary. I wasn’t sure whether I would like this book or not (this isn’t my usual reading fare). Suffice it to say, I was pleasantly surprised by this sweet but fun novella.

Now, this was not a fine piece of literary fiction, worthy of the Pulitzer Prize, but I really don’t think that’s the point here. I had a good time enjoying it for what it was–a cute romance story. Sometimes, I want a girly read to kick back & get lost in, and this fit the bill. I will make the distinction, though, that I thought this read more like chick lit than steamy romance. Yes, the story revolved around a romance & there were definitely sexytimes, but it wasn’t overly graphic or erotic.

If I’m being honest, the plot & the love story were kind of predictable & followed the typical rom-com plot, but I truly mean that in the best way possible. Even though I knew how the story would end, I very much enjoyed the ride. Familiarity is not always a bad thing!

I very much enjoyed Kate & her personal journey. As a people pleaser myself, while it was frustrating to read at times, I could definitely relate. I absolutely loved her “love story”–particularly how it allowed her to really come into her own. I don’t want to give anything away, but her & her man were too cute together. They had that easy kind of love I always dreamed about & was lucky enough to find!

My only complaints were pretty minor. Being that this book was novella-length, I just kept wishing there were more. I’d like to see more of the two love-birds! I truly enjoyed both of their characters. The edition I read was about 120 pages. On a positive note, the story never felt rushed or abrupt, despite the length. My other complaint was that there were a handful of typos. That generally doesn’t bother me too bad, and it might have just been the particular edition I had.

I will definitely continue this series, even though I’m not necessarily dying for the next one. While the “cursed wedding dress” wasn’t a huge factor in the story (I feel like it’s more of a series arc, than a plot arc for this book individually), I felt that was a unique idea & I’m curious to see where it goes.

The Almost Wives Club was a sweet & silly, fun & adorable, swoonworthy romance worth checking out if you’re in the mood for a good love story!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

